My train travel from Pune Junction (PUNE) to Chennai Egmore (MS) – A Journey Worth Remembering

I am glad to come again with another interesting travel experience. In life, monotony creeps in due to constancy of schedules and weariness overcomes me making me dull and lazy. This is when I go on a trip visiting places of historical importance, loosening me up to get ready for another long and tiring schedule.

This time I planned to travel to Chennai, a fast-growing city in South India. Chennai, as such, is a place bound by culture, history, and heritage. It promises a lot of opportunities to anyone, who is on a sightseeing visit. Once decided, I didn’t take much time to book the train tickets for my family and me.  There are many trains from Pune to Chennai; nevertheless, I booked AC Second Class tickets with Chennai Express (12163). Since the train is available on all days, we had our journey scheduled on a Wednesday.

On Tuesday, we started off to the Pune Junction in the midnight at 11.30 am because our train is expected to arrive at the station at 12.05 am on Wednesday. Chennai Express arrived ten minutes late that we had ample time to have a cup of tea. After the five minutes halt, we were off Chennai starting our train travel from Pune to Chennai.

chennai express

Chennai Express | Image Resource : chennaiplus.net

The A1 compartment was quite clean and there were pillows, blankets and bed sheets to make the travelers comfortable. I had a comfortable sleep until the train reached the Wadi Junction. It was 7.20 in the morning and time for the breakfast. I had food packed for breakfast and lunch as I love to cook for my children. Roti and aloo baaji went well in the morning and I was happy to see everyone relishing my dish.

By the time we finished our breakfast, the train passed the Raichur Junction. We had fun discussing on current issues and movies and singing a few latest songs such as ‘Man mokat he jhale’ and ‘Todhiya rudhi’.  The train reached the Guntakal Junction at 11 am. When it stopped at Kadapa, we had our lunch. During the journey I was praised a few times for the delicious food by my hubby, which of course encouraged me to try new recipes later.

chennai egmore railway station at night

Chennai Egmore Railway Station at night | Image Resource : chennai.cityseekr.com

We reached Chennai Egmore at 8 pm and traveled to straight to Hotel Pandian. Our train travel by Chennai Express from Pune to Chennai thus was exciting.

Leave a Reply

